About 4 miles west and north of Edinburgh Castle, at Cramond Tower is a tall narrow 16th century tower house, with a vaulted basement. It is located in the picturesque village of Cramond. The property was owned by the Bishops of Dunkeld, but
passed to the Douglases, and was then acquired in 1622 by an English merchant, John Inglis. His grandson abandoned the tower in 1680 for Cramond House, now the home of the Scottish Wildlife Trust. The tower became ruinous, but was consolidated by
the local council, and finally restored and reoccupied in 1983.
Cramond is also the site of a Roman fort, remains having been found near Cramond Kirk, which itself has a 15th century tower and interesting burial ground.
Wording taken from The Castles of Scotland Third Edition by Martin Coventry